When Romeo falls for the beautiful Juliet…

Hey everyone!

It’s been a while since my last post…about a month I believe. We’ve been doing various things the past weeks and last time, we read an extract of… Romeo and Juliet! Shakespeare is an amazing writer and the play is terrific! Okay, it’s a little hard to understand from time to time but you can still appreciate the beauty of old English (16 th century) . So, we started out last week’s lesson by doing an audio recording of the two lovers’ story…each one of us had a sentence to say and it was really fun how every time, a new voice added up to the story! A bit stressful too…It took me a few seconds to remember my line but we had a great time! (Click here and here!) Then, we read about Romeo and Juliet’s first meeting at a ball…It was very sweet how they fell for each other although it’s hard to believe that Juliet was 13 and Romeo 15 years old…And they got married in two days! (could you imagine teenagers from our time getting married at that age?!) A very surprising thing in the story…we know from the beginning how it’s gonna end up: The prologue of the play tells us what a tragic story it is! They used to announce the end of plays back in time (what a shame!) . We also watched the beginning a movie about Shakespeare’s masterpiece and carefully studied the text…If I  have time, I might put a few analyses elements on the blog !

Anyway, here’s what we read, enjoy!

PROLOGUE:

Two households, both alike in dignity,In fair Verona, where we lay our scene, From ancient grudge break to new mutiny, Where civil blood makes civil hands unclean. From forth the fatal loins of these two foes A pair of star-cross’d lovers take their life; Whose misadventured piteous overthrows Do with their death bury their parents’ strife. The fearful passage of their death-mark’d love, And the continuance of their parents’ rage, Which, but their children’s end, nought could remove, Is now the two hours’ traffic of our stage; The which if you with patient ears attend, What here shall miss, our toil shall strive to mend.

ACT 1 SCENE 5:

ROMEO

[To JULIET]  If I profane with my unworthiest hand This holy shrine, the gentle fine is this: My lips, two blushing pilgrims, ready stand To smooth that rough touch with a tender kiss.

JULIET

Good pilgrim, you do wrong your hand too much, Which mannerly devotion shows in this; For saints have hands that pilgrims’ hands do touch, And palm to palm is holy palmers’ kiss.

ROMEO

Have not saints lips, and holy palmers too?

JULIET

Ay, pilgrim, lips that they must use in prayer.

ROMEO

O, then, dear saint, let lips do what hands do; They pray, grant thou, lest faith turn to despair.

JULIET

Saints do not move, though grant for prayers’ sake.

ROMEO

Then move not, while my prayer’s effect I take. Thus from my lips, by yours, my sin is purged.

JULIET

Then have my lips the sin that they have took.

ROMEO

Sin from thy lips? O trespass sweetly urged! Give me my sin again.

JULIET

You kiss by the book.

Nurse

Madam, your mother craves a word with you.

ROMEO

What is her mother?

Nurse

Marry, bachelor, Her mother is the lady of the house, And a good lady, and a wise and virtuous I nursed her daughter, that you talk’d withal; I tell you, he that can lay hold of her Shall have the chinks.

ROMEO

Is she a Capulet? O dear account! my life is my foe’s debt.

BENVOLIO

Away, begone; the sport is at the best.

ROMEO

Ay, so I fear; the more is my unrest.

CAPULET

Nay, gentlemen, prepare not to be gone; We have a trifling foolish banquet towards. Is it e’en so? why, then, I thank you all I thank you, honest gentlemen; good night. More torches here! Come on then, let’s to bed. Ah, sirrah, by my fay, it waxes late: I’ll to my rest.Exeunt all but JULIET and Nurse

JULIET

Come hither, nurse. What is yond gentleman?

Nurse

The son and heir of old Tiberio.

JULIET

What’s he that now is going out of door?

Nurse

Marry, that, I think, be young Petrucio.

JULIET

What’s he that follows there, that would not dance?

Nurse

I know not.

JULIET

Go ask his name: if he be married. My grave is like to be my wedding bed.

Nurse

His name is Romeo, and a Montague; The only son of your great enemy.

JULIET

My only love sprung from my only hate! Too early seen unknown, and known too late! Prodigious birth of love it is to me, That I must love a loathed enemy.

(picture credit: Palnk deviantart – no copyright infringement intended; for educational purposes)
2 thoughts on “When Romeo falls for the beautiful Juliet…

Leave a Reply

